2 Comments

Meal Planning and Baked Oatmeal

With my husband’s birthday today, 2 cute little visiting nieces, week #2 of back-to-school for our kids, and a little more free time on my hands now that my face isn’t plastered to a midwifery textbook, I’ve decided we’re going to celebrate by having delicious food for our mouths and minds. To make it a little easier and less intimidating to feed all 8 of us, I’ve created an addition to my Google calendar and called it “Meals” – catchy, huh?  (which I hope will continue on into weekly planning to help us stay sane while I’m on call).

Since I know it can be a challenge to think up healthy, whole food options to feed your growing family (and belly when you’re pregnant) I thought I’d share our week’s recipes on the WTG blog.

Due to some food allergies in our family, as well as a desire to eat well and feel good, we’ve currently landed on Paleo-esque with a strong plant-base. And, since my vegan nieces are here, we’ll have even more veg-friendly choices this week (with a sneak of meat for the birthday boy). However, I’m not a Food Blogger (notice the capital letters), and I’m also not a real Vegan, like my Leafeater SIL, who is both. All of my recipes will have originated from someone else and may be modified to meet our GF, DF, vegan, paleo needs. All of that to say, there should be something yummy on here for everyone.

Without further ado, tomorrow morning’s breakfast is Baked Oatmeal (with green smoothies – more on that in another post) and is inspired by the Big Lake, WA Johnsons (my other SIL and BIL and his family) and this recipe, modified as stated above (and with less sugar). The kids all love it and the best part? It can be made ahead (tonight) and reheated (tomorrow). And, you can load it up with nuts, seeds, and anything else that makes you feel better about eating a big oatmeal cookie for breakfast.

Baked Oatmeal (not Paleo)

mtf_WzHoo_157

Baked Oatmeal – Vegan on the left; GF/DF on the right

  • 3 cups rolled oats (Bob’s Redmill for GF option)
  • 1/3 C coconut sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 eggs (sub flax eggs for vegan)
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons real vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries, fresh or frozen cherries, blueberries, or any other fruit of your choice

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, mix together oats, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. Beat in milk, eggs, melted coconut oil, and vanilla extract. Stir in fruit. Spread into a 9×13 inch baking dish.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes
  4. Pour your milk alternative over the top, and pile on the candied walnuts (toasted with melted coconut oil and a sprinkle of coconut sugar), seeds, and other yummy proteins.
2 comments on “Meal Planning and Baked Oatmeal

  1. I’m excited about these posts you’re doing, Angela!

Leave a Reply

